African studies: subject guide

Search for books and articles

• AfricaBib
  Site consisting of six bibliographic databases: Africana Periodical Literature, African Women, Women Travelers, Explorers and Missionaries to Africa, Islam in Africa, Kenya Coast, Water and Africa. 
• AfricaLit Plus
  Search a wide range of information resources from a single search box, including the NAI library catalogue.
• African Studies Centre Catalogue
  This database contains the titles of the library collection of the African Studies Centre (ASC) in Leiden. It is a good source to search for e.g. books and journal articles on Africa.
• AJOL (African Journals Online)
• Connecting Africa
  Connecting Africa is a gateway to African research information and materials produced worldwide. It provides access to over 31,000 publications, among other things.
• Google Scholar
  Search service for finding scholarly literature.
• National EDT Portal
  A repository for South African theses and dissertations in fulltext.
• SCOPUS
  A large interdisciplinary database that covers many different scholarly areas.
• Social Science Database
  This database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work and sociology.

• Web of Science

Interdisciplinary database with scholarly publications in a wide range of subjects, including social sciences, economy and politics. It is also a database for citation searching.

• WorldCat
  Search service providing information on titles held by more than 10,000 libraries worldwide.
• Worldwide Political Science Abstracts                                                                                                                                                 International political science and international relations - journal articles, books, dissertations and working papers.

Encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri etc.

• African Studies Thesaurus
  Thesaurus of terms in the field of African studies. Useful for finding subject terms for searching in e.g. the African Studies Centre Catalogue (see link above).
• ASC Country Portal
  Information about African countries.
• Britannica Academic
  The database includes Encyclopaedia Britannica Online and the Merriam-Webster Dictionary & Thesaurus. It also contains World Data Analyst, which consists of statistics for different countries.
• Encyclopedia of African History (3 vol.) is available in the library - shelf Kp(x).
• A Guide to the Countries of the World
  Provides information on every country in the world.
• Oxford English Dictionary
  An unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of more than 600,000 words.
• Oxford Reference
  The database offers a huge range of dictionaries, thesaurusi and subject reference works.
• UNdata
  International statistics.
• The World Factbook (produced by the CIA)

Student theses

• Essays.se
  Search for full-text theses submitted at Swedish universities.
• DiVA
  Find full-text theses and other scholarly works submitted at Högskolan Dalarna.

Other resources

• A Guide to Africa on the Internet (Provided by The Nordic Africa Institute)
• The Nordic Africa Institute
  The NAI library provides access to a few resources for external users at Nordic higher educational institutions. Apply for remote access.
• Studying Africa (2014)
  Studying Africa is a guide to African studies, primarily within the area of social sciences. The book provides practical guidance on handbooks, databases, statistics and other support for literature and fact searches, as well as an introduction to the topics "The history of Africa" and "Politics, economics and society".
• Ulrichsweb
  Gives detailed information on more than 300,000 periodicals. Useful e.g. for checking if a journal is peer reviewed.