Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
SCB Statistics Sweden
Official Statistics of Sweden. Statistics by subject area from Statistics Sweden and 27 other authorities.
Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union with mission to provide high quality statistics and data on Europe.
UNdata is a web-based data service for the global user community. It brings international statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single-entry point.
Political Data Yearbook interactive
Political Data Yearbook captures election results, national referenda, changes in government, and institutional reforms for a range of countries, within and beyond the EU.
The World Bank DataBank
DataBank is an analysis and visualisation tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. You can create your own queries; generate tables, charts, and maps.
ParlGov is a data infrastructure for political science and contains information for all EU and most OECD democracies (37 countries).
Statistics Explained is an official Eurostat website presenting statistical topics in an easily understandable way, completed by a statistical glossary clarifying all terms used.
Gapminder is an independent Swedish foundation that uses reliable data to develop easy to understand teaching materials to rid people of their misconceptions.
Democracy Indexes, Reports & Research programs
European Values Study
The European Values Study is a large-scale, cross-national, and longitudinal survey research program on basic human values. It provides insights into the ideas, beliefs, preferences, attitudes, values, and opinions of citizens all over Europe.
World Values Survey
The World Values Survey (WVS) is an international research program devoted to the scientific and academic study of social, political, economic, religious and cultural values of people in the world.
UCDP Uppsala Conflict Data Program
The Uppsala Conflict Data Program (UCDP) is the world’s main provider of data on organized violence and the oldest ongoing data collection project for civil war. Its definition of armed conflict has become the global standard of how conflicts are systematically defined and studied.
EIU Democracy Index (2021)
An index compiled by the Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU), that attempts to measure the state of democracy in 167 countries and territories.
The Varieties of Democracy Research Project
The Varieties of Democracy (V-Dem) Research Project at the V-Dem Institute at the Department of Political Science, University of Gothenburg takes a comprehensive approach to understanding democratization.
ElectionGuide is a comprehensive online source of verified election information provided by the international nonprofit International Foundation for Electoral Systems.
An organization that map corruption in the World. The Corruption Perceptions Index (CPI) ranks 180 countries and territories around the world by their perceived levels of public sector corruption.
Universal Human Rights Index (UHRI)
The UHRI allows you to explore over 170.000 observations and recommendations made by the international human rights protection system: Treaty Bodies, Universal Periodic Review, Special Procedures.
Human Development Reports
Human Development Reports is an approach for advancing human wellbeing that has introduced the Human Development Index (HDI) as a measure of achievement in the basic dimensions of human development across countries.
A non-profit U.S. government funded watchdog organization that publish research and reports on the freedom of the world.
The European Union
The official European Union website. General information on legislation and work within the EU.
EUobserver is a not-for-profit, independent online newspaper that aims to support European democracy by giving people the information they need.
EUR-Lex is an online gateway to EU Law run by the Publications Office of the European Union. It provides the official and most comprehensive access to EU legal documents.
EU legislative institutions
The European Parliament is the EU's law-making body. It is directly elected by EU voters.
Council of the European Union
In the Council of the EU, government ministers from each EU country meet to discuss, amend and adopt laws, and coordinate policies.
The European Commission is the EU's politically independent executive arm responsible for drawing up proposals for new European legislation
Easy to read about EU
EU at a glance
This series of short papers provides clear, easy-to-understand explanations of what the EU does in various policy areas, why the EU is involved and what the results are.