Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search for books and articles
Find full-text dissertations from a number of universities in Europe.
ERIC (The Education Resources Information Center) is the world's largest digital database of education literature.
- Google Scholar
NB: Avoid using Google Scholar to search for literature in general, as the search service not only includes scholarly litereature but also many non-scholarly and dishonest sources. You can however use Google Scholar to try to find specific articles and dissertations in full text that you have already found bibliographic information about in e.g. the databases Linguistics Collection, ERIC or MLA International Bibliography. To get access to full-text articles in the library’s journal subcriptions, you must active a library link (See Active library links in Google Scholar).
A national search service providing information on titles held by Swedish university and research libraries as well as many public libraries. You can limit your search to dissertations.
- Linguistics Collection
Database collection for literature on linguistics and language-related disciplines. The collection searches simultaneously in the databases Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) and Linguistics Database.
A search service providing information on titles held by more than 10,000 libraries worldwide.
Encyclopedias, dictionaries and thesauri
- Britannica Academic
Consists of Encyclopaedia Britannica and Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, among other things.
- NE:s ordböcker
NE:s dictionaries, e.g. NE:s Swedish-English/English-Swedish dictionary.
- Oxford Reference
The database offers a huge range of dictionaries and subject reference works, including Concise Oxford Companion to the English Language and The Oxford Companion to English Literature.
More dictionaries can be found on shelf Fe(x) in the library.
Find full-text theses and other scholarly works submitted at Högskolan Dalarna.
Search for full-text theses submitted at Swedish universities.
- CELT - Irish history, literature and politics.
- Romantic Circles - A website devoted to the study of literature and culture of the Romantic period.
- Sketch Engine
The database contains several corpora in different languages, each containing billions of words. (Choose "Institutional login" and find Dalarna University.)