Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Italian: Subject guide

Resources

Search for books and articles

  • Access Torrossa 
    Database including Italian ebooks and the journal Francofonia.
  • ERIC
    ERIC (The Education Resources Information Center) is the world's largest digital database of education literature.
  • Google Scholar 
    NB The search service contains not only scholarly literature but also many non-scholarly sources and dishonest journals. Consequently, you should check that sources are scholarly and that articles are not from journals listed in Cabells - Predatory Reports. To get access to full-text articles in the library’s journal subcriptions, you must active a library link (See Active library links in Google Scholar).
  • Intratext
    Free full-text books and corpora in Italian and other languages.
  • LIBRIS 
    A national search service providing information on titles held by Swedish university and research libraries as well as many public libraries. You can limit your search to dissertations.
  • Linguistics Collection
    Database collection for literature on linguistics and language-related disciplines. The collection searches simultaneously in the databases Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) and Linguistics Database..
  • SBN (Servizio Bibliotecario Nazionale) 
    National catalogue for Italian libraries. Good resource for finding books.
  • Summon
    In this search service you find the library's printed books, e-books and journal articles. You also find books and articles that are not part of the library's collection. .
  • WorldCat
    A search service providing information on titles held by more than 10,000 libraries worldwide.

 

Encyclopedias and dictionaries

  • Britannica Academic
    The database includes Encyclopædia Britannica Online and Merriam-Webster Dictionary & Thesaurus.
  • Enciclopedia dell'italiano : il vocabolario Treccano (2 vol.)
    Printed version available on shelf Fi(x) in the library.
  • Grande dizionari della lingua italiana (flerbandsverk)
    Printed version available on shelf Fi(x) in the library.
  • Letteratura Italiana (flerbandsverk)
    Printed version available on shelf Gi(x) in the library.
  • Sapere
    Fritt tillgängligt italienskt uppslagsverk.
  • Treccani (vocabolario)
    Italian dictionary.
  • Treccani (sinonimi)
    Italian synonym dictionary.

      More Italian dictionaries available on shelf Fi(x) in the library.

 

Student theses

  • DiVA
    Find full-text theses and other scholarly works submitted at Högskolan Dalarna.
  • Uppsök
    Search for full-text theses submitted at Swedish universities.

 

Other resources 

 

Search guides